Creative Writing Story #1

It has been a long time since I wrote something on this blog. I have been quite busy moving in England and settling in my new job. Also, I have felt a lack of inspiration lately, and I was too lazy to force myself to write.

Since I have not created any new piece lately, I am publishing very short stories that I had to write for my creative writing classes in uni last year in Dublin. They are only drafts but I really like them.

Conscience of a photograph

Here, we had a photograph of a boy and a girl, sitting next to the sea, both the characters were looking away, and I imagined them as part of the youth of the 1920s in the United States.

Paul remained staring at the calm sea. He heard her moving behind him. It was a pertinent question she had asked. Indeed, what was holding him back?

‘My father,’ he started. ‘He is the one that has put a spoke in my wheel. He is the poison. The day I told him I wanted to be a poet, oh! I remember well, he cut me short. I already made plans for you and I will not comply with you insanity, he said to me. You see Margaret, my father owns a shipping company in Florida and Monsieur has decided that I should run the company when he retires. I will not, I shouted at him. But apparently, I have no choice and my voice does not count. I told him that I would flee, that I would leave to Europe but he sure knows I won’t let my little sister alone with him now that my mother has died. God blesses my mother. If only she was alive, she would have let me follow my dream. Did you know Margaret, that my mother was fond of English poetry? Every sunday, she would read me Shakespeare’s Sonnets. She especially loved Sonnet 18. Do you know it, Margaret? Oh! You should definitely read it. Oh! How I miss my poor mother!

My father never understood our interest in the magic world of poetry. I bet he has not tried hard anyway. He aspires to money and money only. Poor soul! Believe it or not, Margaret, I even wrote him a poem once. I remember it well! It started with : Once again it happened, drowned in the depths of my sorrows, I contemplated my soul. Do you know what his reaction was? He tore the paper into pieces without a glimpse towards me and he said coldly that this would not help me run a company. As if I cared about his company! You see Margaret, I don’t dream of power or money at night… I dream of travel and poetry, I dream that my father accepts me for who I am.

Oh, Margaret… Sometimes I wonder, did other poets have parents? What was Shakespeare’s father like? Certainly not like mine, at any rate!

I don’t know what to think anymore nor what to do! On the one hand, I wish I had the courage to travel abroad and be a writer but on the other hand, I cannot resolve to abandon my sister or you, Margaret. Can you imagine what my sister will become if I she falls into my father’s clutches? I understand this must be hard for you to listen to, but believe me when I say that I have no other choice.’

When he had ended his spleen, Paul turned over and looked at Margaret that had remained silent. She had a reassuring smile on her face, a smile that seemed to hide an absurd thought. She put a hand on Paul’s shoulder and said :

‘I think I have an idea!’

Leave a Reply

