Happiness is down the road

We have all wondered once in our life what real happiness is, what the word means to us. Sometimes, we have found an answer, sometimes we drifted off. As far as I am concerned, I think happiness is made of a multitude of joys, of all the little things that make you smile, that make you safe and more than anything, that make you be yourself.

To be yourself

I would be surprised to learn that each and everyone of the people I know is being himself or herself. Of course, I don’t wish to imply that they are lying. Some people hide the truth, in the best case scenario whereas others, having an ulterior motive or not, pretend to be someone they are not.

Over the years, I have found it difficult to reveal who you really are, what you really think. Facing discrimation or mockery, a kind of carapace grows, like a protection against ones’ harsh voices. When this carapace settles, it is hard nay impossible for people to get through it. At the same time, it is difficult for the protected one to reveal himself without being judged as a liar or even a coward.

This is why, thanks to this conclusion, I can say that I am not being myself. However, over the past few months, I have tried to reveal myself a bit, even though the worst is yet to come.

What happiness is to me, or the little things that make me get real

I love nature. I love the beach, I love the sunrising and the sunset, I love the ocean. I love to walk along the sea, lulled by the music of the waves dashing onto the sand. I love the forests, their trees towering above the lands, unsuccessfully trying to reach the blue sky. I love the sky, during the day, during the night. I love the sun, I love the stars.

I love poetry. I love Apollinaire’s Crépuscule. I love Shakespeare’s Sonnet 18.

I would love not to be alone at sunset and at sunrise. I would love to be loved for who I am and not for who I pretend to be. I would love to cuddle, on the beach, in a forest, under the sun, under the stars.

I love my coffee in the morning, my tea in the evening. I love reading, writing and dreaming.

These are what I love, what I would love, what I need to be pleased.I am a dreamer, a space traveller

Leave a Reply

